Subtitle standards around the world

(document produced by Code-In student Deborah Chan)

Countries under ATSC standards:

Old: CEA-608 New: CEA-708


South Korea United States Minor Outlying Islands (American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands)

North America:

Bahamas Canada Dominican Republic El Salvador Mexico United States (including Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands)

South America: Suriname

Countries under DVB standards: EN 300-743

Africa: Kenya South Africa Madagascar

Asia: China Hong Kong Iran Israel Japan Malaysia Philippines Taiwan

Europe: Cyprus Denmark Finland Iceland Italy Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia Sweden United Kingdom



France: (only available in French)


Countries/Areas with more than 1 standard found: Canada:


United Kingdom:

Unites States: